Only the full symphony orchestra can impose the true emotional dynamics of the arctic nature. FLUTE MYSTERY is a collection of five orchestral works by composer Flint Juventino Beppe.

In this distinctive and dynamic surround sound recording, the Philharmonia Orchestra with Emily & Catherine Beynon as soloists on flute & harp are conducted by the legendary Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Relevant information  Booklet (PDF)   Digging Deeper

Grammy Awards  Nominated for a Grammy Award 2010 in the category «Best surround sound album».

Download free score. Buy parts.   Sheet Music from this album

Flute Mystery Op.66b   Warning Zero Op.54b   Pastorale Op.32 No.1
Vicino alla Montagna Op.58b   Flute Concerto No.1 Op.70

I am very fond of Scandinavian mentality, the way people express themselves and their spiritual world. It has always been a very special treat for me to conduct and play Scandinavian music and it is a particular pleasure to introduce to the world a very talented Norwegian composer Flint Juventino Beppe whose music in its own way is a genuine reflection of his world.

Vladimir Ashkenazy

Flint Juventino Beppe is a major musical discovery. It would be necessary to rewind to the 1940s and Malcolm Arnold to find an emerging composer of such exceeding promise. His compositions are confidently tonal, fluently melodious and possessed of virtually supernatural penetrative power. The flute works receive achingly beautiful, indeed enchanting, performances from Emily Beynon and the Philharmonia under Vladimir Ashkenazy (Beppe conducts the other pieces). This set is recommended for any collector seeking the refined side of contemporary music.

La Scena (Canada)

YouTube Playlist. Navigate between all tracks from the top right menu in the player.

FLUTE MYSTERY is a 2-disc release from composer Flint Juventino Beppe, released on label 2L.

Disc 1: Hybrid SACD (5.1 surround & 2.0 stereo). Disc 2: Pure Audio Blu-ray (5.1 surround & 2.0 stereo).

Executive producers: Flint Juventino Beppe and Lindberg Lyd AS

Label: Symbiophonic

Format: Digital Album, Hybrid SACD & CD + Audio Blu-ray and FJB 50

Type: Orchestral music

Released: 2009

Total duration: 57 minutes

Composer: Flint Juventino Beppe


Emily Beynon, flute

Catherine Beynon, harp

Philharmonia Orchestra

Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor

Flint Juventino Beppe, conductor (2 - 4)

Track listing:

01 Flute Mystery Op.66b 14:12
02 Warning Zero Op.58b 10:02
03 Pastorale Op.32 No.1 1:51
04 Vicino alla Montagna Op.58b 12:24
05 Flute Concerto No.1 Op.70 #1 Memento 7:16
06 Flute Concerto No.1 Op.70 #2 Reminiscence 5:06
07 Flute Concerto No.1 Op.70 #3 Obituary 1:51
08 Flute Concerto No.1 Op.70 #4 Awakening 4:45