Flint Juventino Beppe | The FJB Fingerprint

Tightrope walking beneath heaven Op.32 No.8

8th movement from «Lyric Pieces» Op.32

Category: Symphony Orchestra

Instrumentation: 2-2-2-2 4-2-3-1 Timp - Harp - Str

Composer: Flint Juventino Beppe

Year composed: 1993

First performance:

Duration: 3:50

Relevant links:

— Tightrope walking beneath heaven: the tightrope walker who challenges fate high on the wire, with a sardonic half-smile on his face, is perhaps the most autobiographical of the works on this album. Once again the music thrills and disturbs us, as we witness the nihilistic and brashly provocative teasing of Death itself. The orchestral sound is at times broad, at other times narrow, but it always knows precisely where it is going, alert to every step forward, like the tightrope walker. There is only one path to take (a single false step and it’s all over) so discussions of which route might be best are superfluous and irrelevant. In other words, we have once again arrived at the very core of Beppe’s music, but have approached it from a new direction and see if from a new angle.

Wolfgang Plagge, professor

Recorded for the album REMOTE GALAXY by Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Sheet music for this work

All available sheet music can be downloaded and printed as PDF


All sheet music is available as PDF documents
Download Score
(for free)


All sheet music is available as PDF documents
Order & Download
(click for options)
  • Flute 2
  • Flute 1
  • Oboe 2
  • Oboe 1
  • Clarinet in Bb 2
  • Clarinet in Bb 1
  • Bassoon 2
  • Bassoon 1
  • French horn in F 4
  • French horn in F 3
  • French horn in F 2
  • French horn in F 1
  • Trumpet in Bb 2
  • Trumpet in Bb 1
  • Trombone 3
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 1
  • Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Harp
  • 1. violin
  • 2. violin
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Double bass

Print this page